Care Quality Commission
When CQC last rated this body
CQC has not rated Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Trust since 22 March 2019. Its judgements from then are still on CQC’s own site and are not shown here, because a rating more than 3 years old is not what CQC currently says about a body.
Against the national standards
The measures NHS England publishes against a provider every month, each drawn against the standard set for it. The standards differ: 95% of A&E attendances within four hours, 85% of urgent cancer referrals treated within sixty-two days, 99% of diagnostic tests within six weeks. A figure read against the wrong one says nothing, so no two of these charts share a line and the three cancer standards are never added together.
Hover or use the arrow keys to read any month, with the figures the percentage was worked out from. Every chart opens as a table.
A&E Wait Times
Patients seen within four hours
Not reported by this body.
Waiting times (RTT)
Referral to treatment: waiting under eighteen weeks to start treatment
77.0%
July 2026: 77.0 per cent, 6,899 of 8,961 people waiting. Below the 92% standard.
All 14 months as a table
| Month | Performance | Of people waiting |
|---|---|---|
| Jul 2026 | 77.0%, Below the 92% standard | 6,899 of 8,961 |
| Jun 2026 | 75.9%, Below the 92% standard | 6,762 of 8,908 |
| May 2026 | 74.1%, Below the 92% standard | 6,524 of 8,800 |
| Apr 2026 | 70.5%, Below the 92% standard | 6,156 of 8,737 |
| Mar 2026 | 72.0%, Below the 92% standard | 6,593 of 9,158 |
| Feb 2026 | 71.5%, Below the 92% standard | 6,628 of 9,266 |
| Jan 2026 | 70.7%, Below the 92% standard | 6,580 of 9,312 |
| Dec 2025 | 70.9%, Below the 92% standard | 6,882 of 9,707 |
| Nov 2025 | 73.0%, Below the 92% standard | 7,188 of 9,848 |
| Oct 2025 | 73.2%, Below the 92% standard | 6,669 of 9,113 |
| Sept 2025 | 73.2%, Below the 92% standard | 6,662 of 9,104 |
| Aug 2025 | 71.8%, Below the 92% standard | 6,463 of 9,003 |
| Jul 2025 | 70.4%, Below the 92% standard | 6,165 of 8,753 |
| Jun 2025 | 70.5%, Below the 92% standard | 6,141 of 8,717 |
Diagnostic tests (DM01)
Waiting under six weeks for a scan, a scope or a test
89.8%
July 2026: 89.8 per cent, 1,209 of 1,347 people waiting. Below the 99% standard.
All 4 months as a table
| Month | Performance | Of people waiting |
|---|---|---|
| Jul 2026 | 89.8%, Below the 99% standard | 1,209 of 1,347 |
| Jun 2026 | 93.8%, Below the 99% standard | 1,414 of 1,508 |
| May 2026 | 93.9%, Below the 99% standard | 1,245 of 1,326 |
| Apr 2026 | 94.8%, Below the 99% standard | 1,101 of 1,161 |
Cancer diagnosis (FDS)
Faster diagnosis standard: told the outcome within twenty-eight days
89.1%
July 2026: 89.1 per cent, 139 of 156 referrals. Meets the 75% standard.
All 7 months as a table
| Month | Performance | Of referrals |
|---|---|---|
| Jul 2026 | 89.1%, Meets the 75% standard | 139 of 156 |
| Jun 2026 | 85.9%, Meets the 75% standard | 140 of 163 |
| May 2026 | 81.4%, Meets the 75% standard | 92 of 113 |
| Apr 2026 | 76.3%, Meets the 75% standard | 100 of 131 |
| Mar 2026 | 81.0%, Meets the 75% standard | 132 of 163 |
| Feb 2026 | 81.0%, Meets the 75% standard | 68 of 84 |
| Jan 2026 | 80.3%, Meets the 75% standard | 110 of 137 |
Cancer (31-day)
Decision to treat to first treatment within thirty-one days
100.0%
July 2026: 100.0 per cent, 15 of 15 treatments. Meets the 96% standard.
All 7 months as a table
| Month | Performance | Of treatments |
|---|---|---|
| Jul 2026 | 100.0%, Meets the 96% standard | 15 of 15 |
| Jun 2026 | 100.0%, Meets the 96% standard | 26 of 26 |
| May 2026 | 100.0%, Meets the 96% standard | 16 of 16 |
| Apr 2026 | 100.0%, Meets the 96% standard | 18 of 18 |
| Mar 2026 | 100.0%, Meets the 96% standard | 21 of 21 |
| Feb 2026 | 100.0%, Meets the 96% standard | 15 of 15 |
| Jan 2026 | 100.0%, Meets the 96% standard | 11 of 11 |
Cancer (62-day)
Urgent referral to first treatment within sixty-two days
86.7%
July 2026: 86.7 per cent, 13 of 15 treatments. Meets the 85% standard.
All 7 months as a table
| Month | Performance | Of treatments |
|---|---|---|
| Jul 2026 | 86.7%, Meets the 85% standard | 13 of 15 |
| Jun 2026 | 92.3%, Meets the 85% standard | 24 of 26 |
| May 2026 | 87.1%, Meets the 85% standard | 13.5 of 15.5 |
| Apr 2026 | 85.0%, Meets the 85% standard | 17 of 20 |
| Mar 2026 | 92.5%, Meets the 85% standard | 18.5 of 20 |
| Feb 2026 | 86.2%, Meets the 85% standard | 12.5 of 14.5 |
| Jan 2026 | 95.8%, Meets the 85% standard | 11.5 of 12 |
One measure is marked as not reported. NHS England publishes each of these against the providers that deliver the service, so an absence is usually the kind of body rather than a figure we have failed to collect.
