Lancashire & South Cumbria NHS Foundation Trust

Watch

Share this page

How to read these chartsEach measure uses its own NHS England standard

Against the national standards

Each measure is drawn against its own NHS England standard: 95% for A&E within four hours, 85% for urgent cancer treatment within sixty-two days and 99% for diagnostic tests within six weeks. The charts do not share a standard and the three cancer measures are never added together.

Care Quality Commission

What CQC currently says

CQC has not given Lancashire & South Cumbria NHS Foundation Trust an overall rating. Under its single assessment framework it rates services and key questions rather than awarding one judgement for the whole body, so these are what it currently publishes. They are separate judgements and CQC does not add them together.

Services CQC has rated

Each service is rated on its own. Open one to read the five key questions underneath it.

  • Acute wards for adults of working age and psychiatric intensive care unitsRequires improvement
    • CaringGood31 January 2024
    • EffectiveRequires improvement31 January 2024
    • ResponsiveGood31 January 2024
    • SafeRequires improvement31 January 2024
    • Well-ledRequires improvement31 January 2024
  • Child and adolescent mental health wardsGood
    • CaringGood11 September 2019
    • EffectiveGood11 September 2019
    • ResponsiveGood11 September 2019
    • SafeGood11 September 2019
    • Well-ledGood11 September 2019
  • Community dental servicesGood
    • CaringOutstanding11 September 2019
    • EffectiveGood11 September 2019
    • ResponsiveGood11 September 2019
    • SafeGood11 September 2019
    • Well-ledGood11 September 2019
  • Community end of life careGood
    • CaringGood29 October 2015
    • EffectiveRequires improvement29 October 2015
    • ResponsiveGood29 October 2015
    • SafeGood29 October 2015
    • Well-ledGood29 October 2015
  • Community health inpatient servicesGood
    • CaringGood23 May 2018
    • EffectiveGood23 May 2018
    • ResponsiveGood23 May 2018
    • SafeGood23 May 2018
    • Well-ledGood23 May 2018
  • Community health services for adultsRequires improvement
    • CaringGood11 January 2017
    • EffectiveRequires improvement11 January 2017
    • ResponsiveGood11 January 2017
    • SafeRequires improvement11 January 2017
    • Well-ledGood11 January 2017
  • Community health services for children, young people and familiesGood
    • CaringGood11 January 2017
    • EffectiveGood11 January 2017
    • ResponsiveGood11 January 2017
    • SafeRequires improvement11 January 2017
    • Well-ledGood11 January 2017
  • Community mental health services with learning disabilities or autismGood
    • CaringGood11 January 2017
    • EffectiveRequires improvement11 January 2017
    • ResponsiveGood11 January 2017
    • SafeGood11 January 2017
    • Well-ledGood11 January 2017
  • Community-based mental health services for adults of working ageRequires improvement
    • CaringGood31 January 2024
    • EffectiveRequires improvement31 January 2024
    • ResponsiveRequires improvement31 January 2024
    • SafeRequires improvement31 January 2024
    • Well-ledRequires improvement31 January 2024
  • Community-based mental health services for older peopleGood
    • CaringGood11 January 2017
    • EffectiveGood11 January 2017
    • ResponsiveGood11 January 2017
    • SafeGood11 January 2017
    • Well-ledGood11 January 2017
  • Forensic inpatient or secure wardsGood
    • CaringGood23 May 2018
    • EffectiveGood23 May 2018
    • ResponsiveGood23 May 2018
    • SafeGood23 May 2018
    • Well-ledGood23 May 2018
  • Liaison psychiatry servicesInspected but not rated
    • ResponsiveInspected but not rated22 July 2022
    • SafeInspected but not rated22 July 2022
    • Well-ledInspected but not rated22 July 2022
  • Long stay or rehabilitation mental health wards for working age adultsRequires improvement
    • CaringGood29 October 2015
    • EffectiveRequires improvement29 October 2015
    • ResponsiveGood29 October 2015
    • SafeRequires improvement29 October 2015
    • Well-ledRequires improvement29 October 2015
  • Mental health crisis services and health-based places of safetyGood
    • CaringGood31 January 2024
    • EffectiveGood31 January 2024
    • ResponsiveGood31 January 2024
    • SafeRequires improvement31 January 2024
    • Well-ledGood31 January 2024
  • Specialist community mental health services for children and young peopleGood
    • CaringGood11 January 2017
    • EffectiveGood11 January 2017
    • ResponsiveGood11 January 2017
    • SafeRequires improvement11 January 2017
    • Well-ledGood11 January 2017
  • Wards for older people with mental health problemsRequires improvement
    • CaringGood28 July 2021
    • EffectiveGood28 July 2021
    • ResponsiveGood28 July 2021
    • SafeRequires improvement28 July 2021
    • Well-ledRequires improvement28 July 2021

Most recent judgement 12 September 2025.

Monthly performance against national standards

Hover or use the arrow keys to read any month, with the figures the percentage was worked out from. Every chart opens as a table.

A&E Wait Times

Patients seen within four hours

Not reported by this body.The standard is 95% of attendances.

Waiting times (RTT)

Referral to treatment: waiting under eighteen weeks to start treatment

83.9%

Jul 2026

3,887 of 4,634 people waiting

−6.5 pts since Jun 2026

Below the 92% standard · −8.1 points

70%85%100%92% standardJul 2025Sept 2025Nov 2025Jan 2026Mar 2026May 2026Jul 2026

July 2026: 83.9 per cent, 3,887 of 4,634 people waiting. Below the 92% standard.

All 14 months as a table
Waiting times (RTT) by month, with the figures each percentage was worked out from.
MonthPerformanceOf people waiting
Jul 202683.9%, Below the 92% standard3,887 of 4,634
Jun 202690.4%, Below the 92% standard3,817 of 4,222
May 202693.8%, Meets the 92% standard3,882 of 4,141
Apr 202694.5%, Meets the 92% standard3,605 of 3,816
Mar 202694.2%, Meets the 92% standard3,800 of 4,033
Feb 202695.2%, Meets the 92% standard3,452 of 3,628
Jan 202695.3%, Meets the 92% standard3,425 of 3,592
Dec 202595.9%, Meets the 92% standard3,308 of 3,450
Nov 202596.9%, Meets the 92% standard3,116 of 3,216
Oct 202595.7%, Meets the 92% standard2,800 of 2,927
Sept 202592.9%, Meets the 92% standard2,334 of 2,513
Aug 202590.6%, Below the 92% standard2,009 of 2,217
Jul 202592.3%, Meets the 92% standard2,174 of 2,356
Jun 202592.6%, Meets the 92% standard2,034 of 2,197
Incomplete pathways: people still waiting, not those already treated. NHS England monthly RTT data

Diagnostic tests (DM01)

Waiting under six weeks for a scan, a scope or a test

83.7%

Jul 2026

164 of 196 people waiting

−11.0 pts since Jun 2026

Below the 99% standard · −15.3 points

70%85%100%99% standardApr 2026May 2026Jun 2026Jul 2026

July 2026: 83.7 per cent, 164 of 196 people waiting. Below the 99% standard.

All 4 months as a table
Diagnostic tests (DM01) by month, with the figures each percentage was worked out from.
MonthPerformanceOf people waiting
Jul 202683.7%, Below the 99% standard164 of 196
Jun 202694.7%, Below the 99% standard179 of 189
May 202687.4%, Below the 99% standard201 of 230
Apr 202685.6%, Below the 99% standard184 of 215
Fifteen test types together, from MRI to endoscopy. NHS England monthly diagnostics data

Cancer diagnosis (FDS)

Faster diagnosis standard: told the outcome within twenty-eight days

Not reported by this body.The standard is 75% of referrals.

Cancer (31-day)

Decision to treat to first treatment within thirty-one days

Not reported by this body.The standard is 96% of treatments.

Cancer (62-day)

Urgent referral to first treatment within sixty-two days

Not reported by this body.The standard is 85% of treatments.

4 measures are marked as not reported. NHS England publishes each of these against the providers that deliver the service, so an absence is usually the kind of body rather than a figure we have failed to collect.