Dorset Healthcare University NHS Foundation Trust

Watch

Share this page

How to read these chartsEach measure uses its own NHS England standard

Against the national standards

Each measure is drawn against its own NHS England standard: 95% for A&E within four hours, 85% for urgent cancer treatment within sixty-two days and 99% for diagnostic tests within six weeks. The charts do not share a standard and the three cancer measures are never added together.

Care Quality Commission

What CQC currently says

CQC has not given Dorset Healthcare University NHS Foundation Trust an overall rating. Under its single assessment framework it rates services and key questions rather than awarding one judgement for the whole body, so these are what it currently publishes. They are separate judgements and CQC does not add them together.

Services CQC has rated

Each service is rated on its own. Open one to read the five key questions underneath it.

  • Acute wards for adults of working age and psychiatric intensive care unitsGood
    • CaringGood31 July 2019
    • EffectiveGood31 July 2019
    • ResponsiveGood31 July 2019
    • SafeGood31 July 2019
    • Well-ledGood31 July 2019
  • Child and adolescent mental health wardsOutstanding
    • CaringOutstanding13 April 2018
    • EffectiveOutstanding13 April 2018
    • ResponsiveGood13 April 2018
    • SafeGood13 April 2018
    • Well-ledOutstanding13 April 2018
  • Community end of life careGood
    • CaringOutstanding13 April 2018
    • EffectiveGood13 April 2018
    • ResponsiveGood13 April 2018
    • SafeGood13 April 2018
    • Well-ledGood13 April 2018
  • Community health inpatient servicesGood
    • CaringGood13 April 2018
    • EffectiveGood13 April 2018
    • ResponsiveGood13 April 2018
    • SafeGood13 April 2018
    • Well-ledGood13 April 2018
  • Community health services for adultsOutstanding
    • CaringOutstanding31 July 2019
    • EffectiveGood31 July 2019
    • ResponsiveOutstanding31 July 2019
    • SafeGood31 July 2019
    • Well-ledOutstanding31 July 2019
  • Community health services for children, young people and familiesGood
    • CaringGood13 April 2018
    • EffectiveGood13 April 2018
    • ResponsiveGood13 April 2018
    • SafeGood13 April 2018
    • Well-ledGood13 April 2018
  • Community mental health services with learning disabilities or autismGood
    • CaringGood13 April 2018
    • EffectiveGood13 April 2018
    • ResponsiveGood13 April 2018
    • SafeGood13 April 2018
    • Well-ledGood13 April 2018
  • Community urgent care servicesGood
    • CaringGood31 July 2019
    • EffectiveGood31 July 2019
    • ResponsiveGood31 July 2019
    • SafeGood31 July 2019
    • Well-ledGood31 July 2019
  • Community-based mental health services for adults of working ageGood
    • CaringGood13 April 2018
    • EffectiveGood13 April 2018
    • ResponsiveGood13 April 2018
    • SafeGood13 April 2018
    • Well-ledGood13 April 2018
  • Community-based mental health services for older peopleGood
    • CaringGood13 April 2018
    • EffectiveGood13 April 2018
    • ResponsiveGood13 April 2018
    • SafeGood13 April 2018
    • Well-ledGood13 April 2018
  • Forensic inpatient or secure wardsGood
    • CaringGood13 April 2018
    • EffectiveGood13 April 2018
    • ResponsiveGood13 April 2018
    • SafeGood13 April 2018
    • Well-ledGood13 April 2018
  • Long stay or rehabilitation mental health wards for working age adultsGood
    • CaringGood31 July 2019
    • EffectiveGood31 July 2019
    • ResponsiveGood31 July 2019
    • SafeGood31 July 2019
    • Well-ledGood31 July 2019
  • Mental health crisis services and health-based places of safetyGood
    • CaringGood31 July 2019
    • EffectiveGood31 July 2019
    • ResponsiveGood31 July 2019
    • SafeGood31 July 2019
    • Well-ledGood31 July 2019
  • Specialist community mental health services for children and young peopleGood
    • CaringGood13 April 2018
    • EffectiveGood13 April 2018
    • ResponsiveGood13 April 2018
    • SafeRequires improvement13 April 2018
    • Well-ledGood13 April 2018
  • Substance misuse servicesGood
    • CaringGood24 February 2017
    • EffectiveGood24 February 2017
    • ResponsiveGood24 February 2017
    • SafeGood24 February 2017
    • Well-ledGood24 February 2017
  • Wards for older people with mental health problemsGood
    • CaringOutstanding31 July 2019
    • EffectiveGood31 July 2019
    • ResponsiveGood31 July 2019
    • SafeGood31 July 2019
    • Well-ledGood31 July 2019

Most recent judgement 14 April 2026.

Monthly performance against national standards

Hover or use the arrow keys to read any month, with the figures the percentage was worked out from. Every chart opens as a table.

A&E Wait Times

Patients seen within four hours

Not reported by this body.The standard is 95% of attendances.

Waiting times (RTT)

Referral to treatment: waiting under eighteen weeks to start treatment

Not reported by this body.The standard is 92% of people waiting.

Diagnostic tests (DM01)

Waiting under six weeks for a scan, a scope or a test

68.1%

Jul 2026

1,824 of 2,679 people waiting

+0.1 pts since Jun 2026

Below the 99% standard · −30.9 points

60%80%100%99% standardApr 2026May 2026Jun 2026Jul 2026

July 2026: 68.1 per cent, 1,824 of 2,679 people waiting. Below the 99% standard.

All 4 months as a table
Diagnostic tests (DM01) by month, with the figures each percentage was worked out from.
MonthPerformanceOf people waiting
Jul 202668.1%, Below the 99% standard1,824 of 2,679
Jun 202668.0%, Below the 99% standard1,898 of 2,792
May 202670.2%, Below the 99% standard1,988 of 2,833
Apr 202670.3%, Below the 99% standard1,898 of 2,699
Fifteen test types together, from MRI to endoscopy. NHS England monthly diagnostics data

Cancer diagnosis (FDS)

Faster diagnosis standard: told the outcome within twenty-eight days

Not reported by this body.The standard is 75% of referrals.

Cancer (31-day)

Decision to treat to first treatment within thirty-one days

Not reported by this body.The standard is 96% of treatments.

Cancer (62-day)

Urgent referral to first treatment within sixty-two days

Not reported by this body.The standard is 85% of treatments.

5 measures are marked as not reported. NHS England publishes each of these against the providers that deliver the service, so an absence is usually the kind of body rather than a figure we have failed to collect.