Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Watch

Share this page

Care Quality Commission

What CQC currently says

CQC has not given Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust an overall rating. Under its single assessment framework it rates services and key questions rather than awarding one judgement for the whole body, so these are what it currently publishes. They are separate judgements and CQC does not add them together.

Services CQC has rated

Each service is rated on its own. Open one to read the five key questions underneath it.

  • Acute wards for adults of working age and psychiatric intensive care unitsGood
    • CaringGood26 March 2020
    • EffectiveGood26 March 2020
    • ResponsiveGood26 March 2020
    • SafeRequires improvement26 March 2020
    • Well-ledGood26 March 2020
  • Child and adolescent mental health wardsGood
    • CaringGood26 March 2020
    • EffectiveGood26 March 2020
    • ResponsiveGood26 March 2020
    • SafeGood26 March 2020
    • Well-ledGood26 March 2020
  • Community health inpatient servicesGood
    • CaringGood26 March 2020
    • EffectiveGood26 March 2020
    • ResponsiveGood26 March 2020
    • SafeGood26 March 2020
    • Well-ledGood26 March 2020
  • Community health services for adultsOutstanding
    • CaringGood26 March 2020
    • EffectiveOutstanding26 March 2020
    • ResponsiveOutstanding26 March 2020
    • SafeGood26 March 2020
    • Well-ledGood26 March 2020
  • Community health services for children, young people and familiesGood
    • CaringGood2 October 2018
    • EffectiveGood2 October 2018
    • ResponsiveGood2 October 2018
    • SafeGood2 October 2018
    • Well-ledGood2 October 2018
  • Community mental health services with learning disabilities or autismGood
    • CaringGood30 March 2016
    • EffectiveGood30 March 2016
    • ResponsiveGood30 March 2016
    • SafeGood30 March 2016
    • Well-ledGood30 March 2016
  • Community urgent care servicesGood
    • CaringGood2 October 2018
    • EffectiveGood2 October 2018
    • ResponsiveGood2 October 2018
    • SafeGood2 October 2018
    • Well-ledGood2 October 2018
  • Community-based mental health services for adults of working ageGood
    • CaringGood30 March 2016
    • EffectiveGood30 March 2016
    • ResponsiveGood30 March 2016
    • SafeGood30 March 2016
    • Well-ledGood30 March 2016
  • Community-based mental health services for older peopleOutstanding
    • CaringOutstanding30 March 2016
    • EffectiveOutstanding30 March 2016
    • ResponsiveGood30 March 2016
    • SafeGood30 March 2016
    • Well-ledOutstanding30 March 2016
  • Mental health crisis services and health-based places of safetyGood
    • CaringGood2 October 2018
    • EffectiveGood2 October 2018
    • ResponsiveGood2 October 2018
    • SafeGood2 October 2018
    • Well-ledGood2 October 2018
  • Specialist community mental health services for children and young peopleGood
    • CaringOutstanding26 March 2020
    • EffectiveGood26 March 2020
    • ResponsiveRequires improvement26 March 2020
    • SafeGood26 March 2020
    • Well-ledGood26 March 2020
  • Wards for older people with mental health problemsGood
    • CaringGood2 October 2018
    • EffectiveGood2 October 2018
    • ResponsiveGood2 October 2018
    • SafeGood2 October 2018
    • Well-ledGood2 October 2018
  • Wards for people with a learning disability or autismOutstanding
    • CaringGood2 October 2018
    • EffectiveOutstanding2 October 2018
    • ResponsiveGood2 October 2018
    • SafeGood2 October 2018
    • Well-ledOutstanding2 October 2018

Most recent judgement 22 January 2026.

Against the national standards

The measures NHS England publishes against a provider every month, each drawn against the standard set for it. The standards differ: 95% of A&E attendances within four hours, 85% of urgent cancer referrals treated within sixty-two days, 99% of diagnostic tests within six weeks. A figure read against the wrong one says nothing, so no two of these charts share a line and the three cancer standards are never added together.

Hover or use the arrow keys to read any month, with the figures the percentage was worked out from. Every chart opens as a table.

A&E Wait Times

Patients seen within four hours

98.8%Aug 2026, 1,365 of 1,382 attendances

+0.5 pts since Jul 2026

Meets the 95% standard · +3.8 points

90%95%100%95% standardMay 2025Aug 2025Nov 2025Feb 2026May 2026Aug 2026

August 2026: 98.8 per cent, 1,365 of 1,382 attendances. Meets the 95% standard.

All 17 months as a table
A&E Wait Times by month, with the figures each percentage was worked out from.
MonthPerformanceOf attendances
Aug 202698.8%, Meets the 95% standard1,365 of 1,382
Jul 202698.3%, Meets the 95% standard1,597 of 1,625
Jun 202698.7%, Meets the 95% standard1,583 of 1,604
May 202698.5%, Meets the 95% standard1,486 of 1,509
Apr 202698.7%, Meets the 95% standard1,422 of 1,441
Mar 202699.0%, Meets the 95% standard1,447 of 1,461
Feb 202699.2%, Meets the 95% standard1,166 of 1,176
Jan 202698.9%, Meets the 95% standard1,311 of 1,325
Dec 202599.0%, Meets the 95% standard1,231 of 1,244
Nov 202599.6%, Meets the 95% standard1,163 of 1,168
Oct 202599.2%, Meets the 95% standard1,435 of 1,447
Sept 202599.3%, Meets the 95% standard1,470 of 1,480
Aug 202599.5%, Meets the 95% standard1,428 of 1,435
Jul 202599.2%, Meets the 95% standard1,625 of 1,639
Jun 202598.8%, Meets the 95% standard1,604 of 1,624
May 202599.5%, Meets the 95% standard1,654 of 1,662
Apr 202599.3%, Meets the 95% standard1,462 of 1,472
Dips every January are national, not local. NHS England monthly A&E data

Waiting times (RTT)

Referral to treatment: waiting under eighteen weeks to start treatment

100.0%Jul 2026, 117 of 117 people waiting

Level since Jun 2026

Meets the 92% standard · +8.0 points

90%95%100%92% standardJul 2025Sept 2025Nov 2025Jan 2026Mar 2026May 2026Jul 2026

July 2026: 100.0 per cent, 117 of 117 people waiting. Meets the 92% standard.

All 14 months as a table
Waiting times (RTT) by month, with the figures each percentage was worked out from.
MonthPerformanceOf people waiting
Jul 2026100.0%, Meets the 92% standard117 of 117
Jun 2026100.0%, Meets the 92% standard102 of 102
May 2026100.0%, Meets the 92% standard115 of 115
Apr 2026100.0%, Meets the 92% standard99 of 99
Mar 2026100.0%, Meets the 92% standard100 of 100
Feb 2026100.0%, Meets the 92% standard94 of 94
Jan 2026100.0%, Meets the 92% standard102 of 102
Dec 2025100.0%, Meets the 92% standard107 of 107
Nov 2025100.0%, Meets the 92% standard91 of 91
Oct 2025100.0%, Meets the 92% standard85 of 85
Sept 2025100.0%, Meets the 92% standard77 of 77
Aug 2025100.0%, Meets the 92% standard82 of 82
Jul 2025100.0%, Meets the 92% standard82 of 82
Jun 2025100.0%, Meets the 92% standard90 of 90
Incomplete pathways: people still waiting, not those already treated. NHS England monthly RTT data

Diagnostic tests (DM01)

Waiting under six weeks for a scan, a scope or a test

99.1%Jul 2026, 439 of 443 people waiting

−0.9 pts since Jun 2026

Meets the 99% standard · +0.1 points

90%95%100%99% standardApr 2026Jun 2026Jul 2026

July 2026: 99.1 per cent, 439 of 443 people waiting. Meets the 99% standard.

All 3 months as a table
Diagnostic tests (DM01) by month, with the figures each percentage was worked out from.
MonthPerformanceOf people waiting
Jul 202699.1%, Meets the 99% standard439 of 443
Jun 2026100.0%, Meets the 99% standard290 of 290
Apr 202699.2%, Meets the 99% standard393 of 396
Fifteen test types together, from MRI to endoscopy. NHS England monthly diagnostics data

Cancer diagnosis (FDS)

Faster diagnosis standard: told the outcome within twenty-eight days

Not reported by this body.The standard is 75% of referrals.

Cancer (31-day)

Decision to treat to first treatment within thirty-one days

Not reported by this body.The standard is 96% of treatments.

Cancer (62-day)

Urgent referral to first treatment within sixty-two days

Not reported by this body.The standard is 85% of treatments.

3 measures are marked as not reported. NHS England publishes each of these against the providers that deliver the service, so an absence is usually the kind of body rather than a figure we have failed to collect.